Busy Weekend

If you’re going to be able to look back on something and laugh about it, you might as well laugh about it now.
–Marie Osmond

After spending double digit days working on my final reflective portfolio, I wanted to lie around and watch movies all day.  I couldn’t be lazy though because I had too much to do before my back-to-back-to-back trips.  My time in New Zealand is limited, so I need to cram as much as possible into these final days; I don’t know how long before I return (if I ever do) to New Zealand 😦

Friday afternoon I walked to the Auckland Domain to enjoy the beautiful weather and take pictures (as if I don’t have enough pictures from New Zealand).  Unfortunately for me, I forgot to charge my camera batteries and my camera died shortly after arriving.  Instead I continued on to the Auckland Museum earlier than planned and decided to come back later in the weekend with more battery power.

When I returned Monday afternoon, I finished taking pictures of the Domain and returned to the Auckland Museum.  In the two hours I spent there Friday afternoon, I only walked through the ground floor.  I quickly walked through the ground floor again to take a few pictures before moving on to the next two levels.  The ground floor focuses on the Pacific Islands and Maori culture; the middle level is New Zealand’s natural features: coastlines, oceans, volcanoes, dinosaur fossils, and ancient art is also mixed in; and the top level is New Zealand’s involvement in war.

My favourite sections on the ground floor were the Maori Court and Music.  The Maori Court included a few Maori legends, a marae (meeting house), numerous tiki carvings, and various everyday items (tools, canoes, jewellery, etc).  The marae was the best though because the atmosphere is extremely calm and relaxing.  Shoes aren’t allowed in maraes, so I could feel the wood through my socks.  Ancestors attend meetings as well, thus the calm—and holy—atmosphere.

This atmosphere was also present on the top level where the WWII Hall of Memories is located.  The walls contained a list of New Zealand fallen soldiers from WWII and one panel was left blank except for “Let these panels never be filled.”  Seeing so many names from such a small country was horrible.  The hall’s centre was a memorial with NZ military flags and beautiful stained glass depictions.

The middle level was more active.  I enjoyed the volcano simulator that included the shaking ground from the violent eruption.  I didn’t realise there were so many volcanoes in and around Auckland or that a large volcano exists beneath the harbour.  I became mildly disturbed until learning most are dormant or extinct.

Some of these volcanoes have been around as long as the ancient worlds exhibit.  Here artifacts from famous ancient civilisations were on display.  Water jugs from ancient Greece, Rome, and Egypt were incredible.  The Greek vase was in wonderful condition compared to its Roman counterpart.  My favourite was the Egyptian sarcophagus; I didn’t know they were so short back then.

That night Gavin and I saw Prometheus in theatre.  We had a good time together and had an interesting conversation about the movie on our walk back to the apartments.  The movie itself was entertaining and took a different approach to aliens than most movies.  Prometheus isn’t about aliens invading Earth; it’s about aliens possibly being our creators.

The best event was the next day’s All Blacks rugby game.  Despite sitting alone (most of my friends didn’t go and those that did were seated elsewhere), I thoroughly enjoyed the game.  The All Blacks are extremely skilled, thus winning the 2011 Rugby World Cup.  They didn’t just beat Ireland, they obliterated them.  All Blacks were up 23-3 at halftime, holding the Irish to just a kick.  The final score was 42-10 and the All Blacks only let Ireland score one try (like a touchdown in American football).  The stadium was packed with All Blacks fans and an unexpected number of Irish fans.  I loved the general atmosphere, except when the wave included throwing rubbish in the air…there was a lot of spilled beer and pop.  Thankfully nothing was spilled on me; I didn’t lose my voice/get sick this time; and I want to attend another All Blacks game 🙂

I have mixed feelings about Sunday.  The day started great: Christina and I took the bus to the outer suburbs and walked to the Auckland Harbour Bridge with time to spare.  We checked in and suited up with anxious nerves for our bungy jump.  As we walked out to the launch pad beneath the bridge, I actually felt better because I realised how close to the water we would be.  I wasn’t even sure why I was nervous to bungy jump when I loved skydiving so much.  When we arrived at the launch pad, I couldn’t believe I was actually going to bungy jump; I hadn’t planned to bungy while in New Zealand.

Lucky for me (sarcasm), I had to go last since I was the lightest.  First time in my life I didn’t want to be skinny.  Although the three or four people before Christina and me enjoyed their jumps, we were still really nervous.  The longer I waited, the more nervous I became and Christina minorly freaking out didn’t help.  My nervousness became slightly excited as Christina returned to the launch pad and I was harnessed for my jump.  That excitement was whisked away by the wind as stepped out and looked down.  I didn’t mean to look down until I was jumping, but the ankle weight tugged as it slipped off and I looked down to see what pulled on me.  This mistake almost cost me my jump because I started majorly freaking out.  I kept shaking my head and started crying while the guy tried reassuring me.  This continued for 3-4 minutes until I finally bent my legs and leaned off the edge.

All I remember on the way down was screaming my lungs out in terror, but I don’t remember the water approaching.  I first remember seeing the city as I bounced up and I immediately curled the other direction in search of the ankle release cord.  I yanked on the cord until my ankles were free and I sat upright again.  While being pulled up, my knuckles turned white from gripping the cord so tightly and I couldn’t return to the launch pad fast enough.  I shook so hard while being unharnessed, I thought I’d fall off the launch pad again 😦

Upon returning to the bungy base, we watched everyone’s videos.  While I knew my video would be embarrassingly long, I wanted to watch it.  I knew my reaction was over the top and I was okay with that; so okay that I laughed while watching the video.  I can’t believe how much I overacted, but at the same time I know I’d react the same way if I jumped again.  I’m glad I jumped; I just wish the experience wasn’t so traumatic.

Monday was a much better—less traumatic—day.  Since Roni couldn’t attend my Farewell Tea last Friday, we had lunch together instead.  We had Japanese donburi at a little place across the street and caught up on my plans until I depart New Zealand.  She told me more about the necklace she gave me and I can’t wait to unpack it, so I can wear it more 🙂

I can’t believe how little time I have left in New Zealand.  There’s still so much I want to do, so my remaining weeks will be busy like this weekend 🙂

“I promise to come home to you…Don’t count the miles, count the I love yous”  –“Miles” by Christina Perri
I love you!!! –> For seeing the entire Auckland Museum
I love you!!! –> For an enjoyable time watching the All Blacks
I love you!!! –> For bungy jumping
I love you!!! –> For having a wonderful lunch with a friend 🙂
ILYs: 169

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel: New Zealand

Leave a comment